h1

3.1.1 Elemental Shaman Spec

April 23, 2009

Right, I finally managed to remember to screenshot my talent trees as they were before the latest patch reset them all again. But I know where they’re going so that’s all well and good. For Major Glyphs I am running with Glyph of Lightning Bolt, Glpyh of Flame Shock and Glyph of Totem of Wrath. My current Elemental spec;

ele57

enh14

This is pretty much a straight re-write of the old 57/14 spec that was doing the rounds before 3.1 hit, not a couple of the talents have been taken away or changed this is what I’ve come up with as a replacement, it covers all the basic damage boosting bases as well as adding in the staples of the spec. The biggest change between pre 3.1 and now is the addition of Booming Echoes. Boosting Flame Shock periodic damage by 20% is pretty awesome, especially as it now can crit, the cooldown is less useful though as the Glyph of Flame Shock means that Lava Burst isn’t going to be consuming it.

I’ve added in Glyph of Totem of Wrath, it provides a 5 minute buff equal to 30% of the spelldamage boost that you get from Totem of Wrath, I think this is awesome. Totems can be destroyed or you might be in a fight where you move a lot and (for whatever reason) get plonked out of range of your totem, but with this little buff you’re still going to adding some extra spell damage across all your spells which will stack with you dropping another Totem of Wrath later. With my normal gear, unbuffed, dropping a Totem of Wrath and the new buff pumps me up to over 2100 spellpower.

However, with all this messing around with talents I got to thinking (and this is a dangerous thing. I remember when Wrath hit and we got the new talent trees a discussion started up on Elitist Jerks on whether you could run a Shaman resto spec for Dual Wield with Earthliving Weapon on each. This got me to thinking about the possibility of an Elemental core spec but with Dual Wield and Flametongue weapon on each. Please note that this is pure theory, I have no idea even if FT on two weapons stacks at all, I’ve taken talents that increase the power of Flametongue totem as there just isn’t enough points to get Totem of Wrath, ok you miss the crit and some of the higher level Elemental talents like Lightning Overload, Lava Flows and Shamanism though.

Spec pasted below and I’d be interested in hearing anyone comments on this. A lot of the Enhancement here is filler to get up to Dual Wield, if I had an appropriate off-hand I could respec and try this on a dummy, I don’t and I’m too poor to be able to afford dual-spec to try this out myself. Hence the fact that this is pure theory, it may be that people look at this and laugh at how completely nonviable a spec it is, but I’m willing to take any discussion and help to iron it out if any of it looks worthy of a deeper inspection. I’m not imagining that this is the case but this is the first time I’ve really tried to come up with something completely new talent spec wise rather than going with the de-facto spec out there.

ele39

enh32

I’m note sure if the trade-off in the +% damage bonuses on the those top tier talents are adequately compensated by the extra Flametongue on an off-hand though and my current Glyph of Totem of Wrath would need to go back to the old Glyph of Lava too.

Leave a Reply

